SBCA Annual Award Recipients


SBCA Annual Award Recipients

Meet four individuals recently recognized as industry leaders by their peers.

Each year, SBCA members have the opportunity to nominate individuals within the industry for one of four annual awards. Past winners of these awards have helped shape the structural building components industry and contributed significantly to its growth and prosperity. The 2020 industry award recipients are no different. Please join us in congratulating them and recognizing their achievements!

SBCA Hall of Fame

Recipients are selected for this honor by the vote of industry peers and recognized as contributing significantly to the advancement of SBCA and the component industry.

Dick Marriot

2020 Recipient: 
Dick Marriot, MiTek (retired)

Dick has worked in many different capacities in the truss industry over the course of his career, most notably as president of Mitek. “He helped SBCA and BCMC grow through both good times and bad. His leadership set a strong foundation for the future for the component industry,” said Mike Ruede (A-1 Roof Trusses) as he presented the award to Dick at the November 12 SBCA Board Meeting, held virtually. “Additionally, his mentorship to so many individuals in our industry is second to none. Dick really cares about the truss industry and has always been a leader. More importantly, he cares about the people in the industry, and it shows through the compassion, benevolence and gentleness he has shown to so many others.”

SBC Industry Leadership

This award was established to honor individuals who have helped nurture, support, and grow the components industry as a whole with their vision, innovation, and creativity.

Steve Stroder

2020 Recipient: 
Steve Stroder, California TrusFrame LLC

Steve has lent his leadership skills to SBCA throughout his career serving as a long-time member of the SBCA Board of Directors, as president of the association in 2012, and as chair of several standing committees, including current chair the Emerging Leaders Committee and a member of the Executive Committee. “Steve continues to lead by example, supporting the future success of SBCA by bringing many co-workers from throughout his organization with him to OQMs and BCMC and encouraging them to contribute to various committees,” said Joe Hikel (Shelter Systems Limited) during his presentation of the award. “Steve is a great guy for this industry’s emerging leaders to look up to with his extensive knowledge of the industry and our association. Steve’s leadership continues to prove essential to SBCA’s success.”

Dwight Hikel Humanitarian

This award was established to honor individuals for their mentoring spirit and generosity in philanthropic activities in the structural building components industry and/or sharing ideas, time, and talents for the purpose of mentoring others in the industry.

Rick Parrino

2020 Recipient: 
Rick Parrino, Plum Building Systems

Rick has a passion for the industry that is matched by few others. His dedication to educating building officials, lawmakers, and firefighters about the industry has had a profound impact, not only in his home market of Iowa, but across the country. Further, his willingness to share his approach to local education and relationship development continues to be beneficial to the entire industry. “Rick’s commitment to SBCA’s Advocacy Committee and leadership in every BCMC Build, along with the many hours he has dedicated to veterans’ groups in Iowa, make him the perfect recipient of this award,” said Greg Griggs (Builders FirstSource) as he presented the award to Rick. “He has a big heart and is willing to share his expertise, time, and passion with anyone who asks.”

Dick Bowman Industry Enthusiast

This award honors an individual from a SBCA supplier member company who, over the years, has supported BCMC and the structural building components industry with enthusiasm and integrity in an unselfish and positive manner.

Mike Kozlowski

2020 Recipient: 
Mike Kozlowski, P.E., Apex

Mike Kozlowski regularly lends his engineering expertise to SBCA as a member of SBCA’s Engineering and Technical (E&T) Committee and Technical Support Council (TSC). Mike has also provided long-time leadership and passion on the Emerging Leaders Committee. “Mike has been an important leader as chair of the BCMC Committee as we’ve navigated the many challenges of 2020,” said Dallas Austin (Big C Lumber) in giving the award to Mike. “He worked tirelessly in the past as co-chair of BCMC programs and a member of the committee. His countless hours of dedication to the show year after year has helped ensure BCMC remains the premier event in our industry.” 

Find a full list of SBCA annual award winners at